16June2024

You are here: Home

CFA External Review of Culture and Issues Management Discussion Paper

An independent Review Team from Allen + Clarke, which includes Dr Helen Szoke AO as Lead Reviewer, has been engaged by the Country Fire Authority (CFA) to undertake a review of culture and issues management to support the CFA of the future (the Review).

The Review will seek to ensure that the CFA:

• has a robust and effective approach to issues management across a complex volunteer-based organisation

• sets and embeds behavioural and cultural expectations at all levels of the organisation

• efficiently and effectively manages issues when they do arise and supports members and leaders to work these issues through.

The Review will consider structural and systemic issues and improvements. It will not investigate individual reports of misconduct.

The final report and recommendations will be made available to the membership and employees of the CFA.

Discussion Paper

This Discussion Paper builds upon and is informed by the valuable feedback already provided to the Review Team during initial consultation and a high-level desktop review of the CFA’s policies, procedures and other relevant documents. The purpose of this Discussion Paper is to provide the framing for the next stage of stakeholder consultation.

Members can download a copy of the Discussion paper at the bottom of this page.

How to Contribute

Consultation with CFA volunteers, employees, secondees and other stakeholders across the regions is a key part of the Review. Between October and December 2021 the Review Team will consult with participants through interviews, focus groups and meetings, preferably face to face but potentially via telephone, or online. Where consultations are held face-to-face, the Review Team will comply with the relevant public health directives to help contain the spread of COVID-19. Interviews will be between 30-60 minutes. During consultations, the Review Team will ask a series of questions and invite participants to share their views and experiences. A sample of the sorts of questions the Review Team will ask appears in part 5 of this Discussion Paper.

VFBV is encouraging members to contribute to this review by requesting an interview with the review team.

To arrange an interview, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  

Interviews can be face to face, over the phone, via video conference or part of a group.

Planned field visits are tentatively scheduled for the following dates.

 

DATE

 

 

LOCATION

 

Friday 29 October 2021

Melton

Saturday 30 October 2021

Melton

Wednesday 3 November 2021

Dandenong South

Thursday 4 November 2021

Narre Warren North

Thursday 4 November 2021

Chirnside Park

Friday 5 November 2021

Chirnside Park

Saturday 6 November 2021

Somerville

Wednesday 10 November 2021

Mildura

Thursday 11 November 2021

Swan Hill

Thursday 11 November 2021

Mooroduc

Friday 12 November 2021

Kerang

Monday 15 November 2021

Horsham

Tuesday 16 November 2021

Horsham

Tuesday 16 November 2021

Shepparton

Wednesday 17 November 2021

Wendouree

Wednesday 17 November 2021

Seymour

Thursday 18 November 2021

Broadford

Friday 19 November 2021

Kinglake

Sunday 21 November 2021

Wendouree

Monday 22 November 2021

Ararat

Tuesday 23 November 2021

Ararat

Thursday 25 November 2021

Casterton

Friday 26 November 2021

Hamilton

Friday 26 November 2021

Burwood East

Saturday 27 November 2021

Port Fairy

Monday 29 November 2021

Wodonga

Tuesday 30 November 2021

Wangaratta

Tuesday 30 November 2021

Colac

Wednesday 1 December 2021

North Geelong

Thursday 2 December 2021

North Geelong

Saturday 4 December 2021

Kangaroo Flat

Monday 6 December 2021

Bairnsdale

Monday 6 December 2021

Morwell

Tuesday 7 December 2021

Lakes Entrance

Tuesday 7 December 2021

Morwell

Wednesday 8 December 2021

Sale

Wednesday 8 December 2021

Warragul

Questions or concerns about the Review can be directed to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

Read 5489 times Last modified on Monday, 01 November 2021 13:14
CFA Volunteers are the unpaid professionals of our Emergency Services. VFBV is their united voice, and speaks on behalf of Victoria's 60,000 CFA Volunteers.

Newsletter