19April2024

You are here: Home

Mental Health Matters Workshops

The Mental Health Matters one-day program, hosted by ESF with support from the State Government, will bring together volunteers from across Victoria’s emergency service sector to discuss how we can better promote and support good mental health in an emergency services environment.

The workshops will be facilitated by experienced mental health professionals from OzHelp , alongside guests who will share their lived experience of working in the emergency services sector.

The one-day event is designed to provide participants with a deeper understanding of the many factors that influence our mental health and wellbeing; educating on how to apply these learnings in caring for ourselves and our colleagues in a volunteer team environment.

Participants will leave the workshops: 

• Knowing the role of leaders [formal and informal] to support the mental health and wellbeing of a team

• Able to recognise factors which contribute to stress in a workplace

• Able to recognise early indicators of distress in themselves

• Able to recognise early indicators of distress in colleagues

• Confident in being able to start conversations about mental health and wellbeing with colleagues

• Knowing where to access mental health support and resources

 

Workshops will take place as follows:

Saturday 17 April – Ballarat

Sunday 18 April – City of Melton

Saturday 1 May – Bendigo

Sunday 2 May – Horsham

Saturday 8 May – Wodonga

Sunday 9 May – Seymour

Saturday 15 May – Warrnambool

Sunday 16 May – Geelong

Saturday 22 May – Lilydale

Sunday 23 May – Frankston

Saturday 29 May – Bairnsdale

Sunday 30 May – Traralgon

Register by going to the Emergency Service Foundation website.

Read 4396 times
CFA Volunteers are the unpaid professionals of our Emergency Services. VFBV is their united voice, and speaks on behalf of Victoria's 60,000 CFA Volunteers.

Newsletter